Reader's Favorite

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Dark Witch (The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy, #1) by Nora Roberts BOOK REVIEW

Dark Witch (The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy, #1)Dark Witch
by Nora Roberts

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Nora Roberts is known for her wonderful Irish magic novels. She has written a number that are set in Ireland, involve some magic that has been passed down through the generations and needs a new set of people to hopefully correct a wrong from long ago.

Dark Witch came out around Halloween of 2013 and starts in the year 1263, a long, long time ago. Socha is a dark witch, and no that is not a bad thing. In this context the dark witch is not evil, but one who protects and heals those of the village are castle during that time period. Socha's man, Daithi is off at war, and she is home with their three children. Brannaugh is the oldest and has her mother's abilities and temperament. She will be a great healer one day. Eamon is the middle child and only boy, and he has his own way with birds, specifically Falcons. Teagan is the youngest child, a daughter and only three when the story starts, but if full of magic even at that young age.

The evil sorcerer Cabhan is greedy and power hungry. He wants Socha's power and he thinks he can tempt her into giving it over to him. Socha is a mother above all and she is not falling for his lies, she is set to protect her children. She passes her magic down to her children, dividing it among the three, not giving it all to one and then sets to defeat Cabhan. She tricks him, and poisons them both, she willingly gave her life to protect her children and to end Cabhan, only it's not over.

750 years later, modern day Ireland and the story picks up as three descendants, one of each of Socha's children must come together to defeat Cabhan.

The beauty of Ireland, seen through the eyes of an innocent and naive girl who is left in wonder of the county. The magic that is just accepted as part of your being without question, and the quest to save the world. All themes that Nora Roberts is known for and does so well, are present in this novel. It will become the first book in a trilogy, the Cousins O'Dwyer series.

If you like The Three Sisters Island Trilogy, or the Dreams Trilogy, or well just about any Nora Roberts book, you will once again find yourself at the mercy of her storytelling abilities.

View all my reviews

Tinnley Innes Link
Post a Comment